About Ecuador

Grayline Galapagos Tours

The Republic of Ecuador, a country located in northwestern South America. It borders Colombia on the north, south and east by Peru and the west by the Pacific Ocean. Ecuador, has a relatively small territory (approximately of 256.370 km2), but has the greatest biodiversity per square kilometer in the world! According to a recent study by The International Conservation, Ecuador has the privilege of being among the 17 countries "mega diverse", with the United States, China, Australia, Brazil, among others.

With 9.2 species per km2, Ecuador ranks first in the world in reference to this parameter. The wealth of this country is in its diversity: both natural and cultural. The capital city is Quito, located at 2.850m above sea level; the currency is the American Dollar and its voltage is 110V. The country is divided into 24 provinces, divided into four natural regions: Region Insular, Coast, Sierra and Amazon. Ecuador's population is estimated at 14,500,000 there are 70 volcanoes, 14 inactive, 14 sleeping and 42 passives, and the Chimborazo is the highest volcano with 6310 meters high. It is the country with the highest concentrations of rivers per square kilometer around the world. It is the biggest exporter of bananas, the leader exporter of flowers worldwide, and one of the main exporter for shrimps and cocoa. You can travel in Ecuador over the year, but every season has its advantages. It always depends on what travelers want to do. July to September and December to January has the largest number of foreign tourists in Ecuador.

Temperatures in the country are different in each region and depend on the altitude. While in the mountains can be very cold, with snowstorms passing over the tops of the mountains in the coast could be a humid tropical heat. However, over the year, there are not significant changes in temperature.

All You Need is Ecuador Ministerio de Turismo del Ecuador Quito